The Coconut Diaries – Coconut for Healthy Teeth

This week I’m discussing oil-pulling and its many benefits.  I have been using the oil pulling method with coconut oil for about 6 weeks now and here are some of the benefits:

Whiter teeth

Less sensitivity to hot/cold

Fresher breath

Healing gums

Eliminated plaque build-up

I have included some links on the oil-pulling method, and I have recently had the pleasure of reading Cure Tooth Decay by Ramiel Nagel.  Here is a simple and concise summary on how I oil pull using Nagel’s protocol.

1)      First thing in the morning I brush my teeth with an alkalizing tooth powder.  I use Uncle Harry’s and love it.

2)      Scoop out a tablespoon or so of coconut oil and work it around your mouth using a sucking motion, back and forth between your teeth.  The best way I can describe it is this : Remember when you were a kid and played with your soft foods?  We all did it, squishing pudding around in our mouths and between our teeth.  This is how you oil pull.

3)      Recommended time is 20 minutes but you will likely need to work up to it.  Minimum time should be 10, but again, start slow.  If you can only go 2 minutes that’s just fine.

4)      After your time is up simply spit and rise with warm water.

Voila!  Clean teeth.  I encourage you to give it a try it’s such a fantastic alternative to those hard mouth rinses that only break down your tooth enamel.

Leave a Reply

