Coconut Flour Banana Bread (Grain, Dairy & Nut Free)

Image

Today I had the pleasure of trying out a recipe for banana bread by Gutsy.  I absolutely love banana bread slathered with Kerrygold butter.  YUM!  I made a few modifications to the recipe, adding a few more bananas and substituting organic maple syrup for the honey.  I also omitted the stevia as the maple general makes baked goods extra sweet but that’s just my humble opinion.  I do realize maple syrup my not be technically paleo but as I have said before I’m not a purist and I do what works for my family and my budget.  Raw honey is expensive and when you bake as much as I do you quickly learn where you can save and splurge.  I will not sacrifice my raw dairy, pastured meats, pastured eggs and Kerrygold butter! Anyway, I am rambling, on with the recipe!

Coconut Flour Banana Bread (gluten free, nut free, grain free)

1 cup coconut flour

4 VERY ripe bananas

4 pastured eggs

6 tbsp. grass-fed butter – melted

5 tbsp. Organic Maple Syrup

1/4 tsp. sea salt

1 ½ tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 tbsp. vanilla

Prep:

Grease a bread pan with coconut oil, then line with unbleached parchment paper.  You don’t absolutely need parchment paper but it makes for easy clean-up and loaf removal.  Preheat your oven to 300 degrees Fahrenheit.

Blend your bananas and wet ingredients.  In a separate bowl add dry ingredients then sift into the wet mixture.  Sifting makes the bread nice and fluffy!  Add the mixture to your bread pan and slide it in your pre-heated oven.

Bake for 1 – 1 ½ hours.  IMPORTANT NOTE: Oven temps vary in a major way!  The original recipe called for an hour and 15 minutes, mine was barely ready in 1 ½ hours so start checking your loaf at 1 hour and gauge it from there.  I have not tried this in a bread maker however; I have had loads of success with my Breadman so feel free to give it a try.

This is honestly the best recipe for banana bread that I have ever tasted, including traditional flour varieties.  It’s dense yet delicate and holds up to a generous amount of butter.  It is easy to make, doesn’t require a ton of special ingredients or equipment and the instructions are very simple.  I am going to test it out with my apple-apricot spread tomorrow (recipe soon).  Let me know if you make this bread and how it turns out for you! ~Carmen

One thought on “Coconut Flour Banana Bread (Grain, Dairy & Nut Free)

  1. Pingback: Delicious French Toast – Grain Free! | ourwholelifeblog

Leave a Reply

