Wool Dryer Balls – Worth The Hype?

Image

A few weeks ago I posted with great excitement about ordering some wool dryer balls from Clean Sypria.  I wanted to post a review about my experience using them so here is my review: GET SOME! Like, NOW!  Seriously, these suckers are nothing short of pure awesomeness. Here’s the deal, I generally buy 7th Generation unscented dryer sheets.  My opinion of the price: GAH! My opinion of the quality: meh.  I still get static, my cottons are still wrinkly and it still takes forever + a day to dry everything.

In preparation for my little gems to arrive in the mail, which they did in a very timely manner I might add, I figured out how long it takes to dry the following loads of laundry using a standard permanent press cycle.  I also noted as well as wrinkles (clearly, I have WAY too much time on my hands with school being done…).  Then, I dried the exact same loads with my wool dryer balls.  Here’s the breakdown!

Using 7th Generation dryer sheets:

Load #1 Dry Time Static Wrinkles
3 pair jeans, 4 tees 60 minutes Minimal Minimal
5 bath towels, 3 hand towels, 10 washcloths 70 minutes Moderate Moderate
4 sweaters 70 (on low heat) Moderate – Heavy Moderate

Using wool dryer balls:

Load #1 Dry Time Static Wrinkles
3 pair jeans, 4 tees 45 minutes Minimal None
5 bath towels, 3 hand towels, 10 washcloths 55 minutes Minimal None
4 sweaters 60 (on low heat) Minimal None

By these results, I’m sold.  On average I saved 10-ish minutes on dry time but the really big difference was in the static and the wrinkles especially in my sweaters.  Needless to say, I won’t be going back to dryer sheets. Have you used dryer balls?  What do you think? ~ Carmen

This post is linked to Party Wave Wednesday, No-Rules Weekend, Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways,  Weekend Wonders

Leave a Reply

