Flax Meal Banana Bread (High Fiber, Gluten Free)

Image

Today I made lovely banana bread with no additional sugars.  I had several very brown bananas sitting on my counter and since I hate throwing out food, I decided to make bread.  My original plan was to make this Coconut Flour Banana Bread but I found that I didn’t have enough coconut flour.  I didn’t want to use rice flour as I wasn’t sure the texture would come out right and I’m avoiding rice.  We had plenty of flax meal and I thought that would make a great substitute.  The added fiber is very filling and it adds a nice flavor to the bread.  If you want more banana flavor, I would recommend adding a bit of extra coconut flour and flax to make up for the extra moisture.  This bread is very moist so it is imperative to check on it after 50 minutes and check every 5 to 10 depending on doneness.  In my Breadman, this recipe took exactly 1 hour and 10 minutes to cook and an additional hour just resting in the pan in the bread machine.  It is phenomenal with grass fed butter and I can definitely see some French toast as well as raisin muffins in the future!  One could certainly add some sweetener, coconut sugar or medjool dates would be a great addition but quite honestly this is very flavorful all alone. As always, if you enjoy my posts, please stop by my Facebook pageand show some like love!

Flax Meal Banana Bread (High Fiber, Gluten Free)

½ cup ground flax meal

½ cup coconut flour

3 VERY ripe bananas

4 large or 5 small pastured eggs

5 tbsp. grass-fed butter – melted

1/4 tsp. sea salt

1 ½ tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 tbsp. vanilla

Prep:

Grease a bread pan with coconut oil, then line with unbleached parchment paper.  You don’t absolutely need parchment paper but it makes for easy clean-up and loaf removal.  Preheat your oven to 300 degrees Fahrenheit. –OR- grease your bread maker pan.

Put everything into a food processor and blend until smooth.  This batter should be the consistency of a thick cake mix.  If you don’t have a food processor, a mixer and a bowl will do just fine, just be sure to incorporate your coconut flour, flax and baking soda before mixing into the wet ingredients.

Bake for 1 hour 10 minutes.  Your oven may be hotter or cooler so the time can vary.  The bread is done when a toothpick comes out clean, but be sure not to overcook.  The best thing to do is remove the pan from the oven and let the bread cool in-pan to be sure that the center is cooked.  Same thing with the bread maker just shut it off and leave the loaf in the pan until cool.

Let me know what you guys think and if you make any modifications that work!  ~Carmen

(This post is linked to the following blog carnivals: Wheat Free Wednesday, Party Wave Wednesday, Real Food Wednesday)

2 thoughts on “Flax Meal Banana Bread (High Fiber, Gluten Free)

Leave a Reply

