Super Easy Crock-Pot Ghee

Ghee is a healthy, flavorful and delicious way to create many dishes.  I use it to make my home-made sandwich spread, frying and as a healthy oil in baking.  Many of the brands that are readily available have added ingredients or are not from pastured, grass-fed cows.  The last grass-fed ghee that I purchased was approximately $12.00 for 6 ounces!  Ouch!  I have read blog posts about making ghee but have always thought that it would be too complicated or that I would mess it up until I stumbled across this article  from Butter Believer on how to make ghee using a crock pot.   I wanted to give this method a try and see if it was really as simple as it sounded.  I have just finished up a batch and it was actually really simple, using tools that I already had at home and Kerrygold butter from Costco.  This yielded 3 times more than my store-bought ghee and cost 50% less! My ghee was ready in 3 ½ hours but if you want a darker amber color you could do the full 4 or a bit more.  It really is simple, if I can pull this off anyone can.  I’ve included pictures as a guide for what it should look like.  In addition, I think that many people have varying cook times due to differences in crock pots so you may want to check on yours from time to time just to be certain it’s not cooking faster than expected.

Tools: Crock-pot, Fine mesh strainer , Funnel, Jar

Ingredients:

1.5 lbs Kerrygold Butter

Prep:

SAM_1754

Unwrap your butter and toss it in the crock pot.  Set the crock on high for 4 hours.

SAM_1756

After about an hour this is what your butter will look like.

SAM_1758

Butter at 2 hours…

SAM_1759

And it’s ready!  You will notice brownish crispy pieces floating in your melted butter, this is what you will be straining out.

SAM_1760  SAM_1761

Pour your melted mixture through a fine mesh strainer, cheese cloth or nut milk bag into a clean glass jar.

SAM_1763

That’s it!  You are done!  This is what will be left in the bottom of your pot.

SAM_1764

Now, just let your ghee cool, cap it and store it in your cupboard or fridge if you prefer.

Let me know if you try this simple and frugal method for making your own healthy ghee! ~Carmen

(This post can be found on the following blog carnivals: Real Food Wednesday, Party Wave Wednesday, )

Leave a comment