Home Made, Healthy, Tasty Au Jus “Concentrate”

photo(3)

I loved French dip sandwiches when I was growing up.  We always had them when my mom would make a roast as leftovers the next day.  Once I was out of my own and I began to cook meals for myself, I used the au jus mix from the store, the kind in the little packets.  These days, more concerned about healthy eating and armed with better information, I appreciate the value of home-made foods.  At the beginning of 2013 I began to really commit to avoiding packaged foods and condiments.

Au jus is great thickened with arrowroot and used as a gravy, it’s also superb for French dip sandwiches or poured over white rice and it is super simple to make.  I have tried in the past to make my own au jus but I couldn’t get the desired liquid amounts from just one roast, and to add water at the beginning made it too diluted.  Here is the secret to great, rich, and flavorful au jus: roasted bone broth or “stock”.  It adds depth to the flavor and gives volume without a watered down taste.  Here are some simple directions to get perfect au jus from your roast every time.

What you need:

2 lb roast

½ cup Course sea salt

½ c. roasted bone broth (find my recipe here)

Black Pepper

2 tbsp ghee (find my recipe here)

4 – 6 tbsp Coconut Aminos

Slow Cooker

Prep:

In a large bowl, coat the roast in coconut aminos and let it sit for 20 minutes or so.  Remove your roast from the marinade and pour the remaining coconut aminos into your crock pot.  Next, coat your roast in sea salt and add a generous amount of black pepper.  Heat the ghee in a frying pan and sear the roast on all sides, this is important to make a moist and tender roast.  Now, add your roast to the crock pot along with the bone broth and cook on low heat for 6 hours.  Cook time will vary greatly depending on your slow cooker so be sure to make adjustments as needed.

Once your roast is done, transfer it to a plate for serving and pour the liquid from the crockpot through a strainer into a mason jar.  You now have flavorful au jus for those next day left overs or a perfect gravy base for potatoes and such. This will be very concentrated so at this point I would recommend a ratio of au jus concentrate to water at a 2:1 ratio.   Enjoy! ~Carmen

(This post can be seen on the following blog link-ups: Party Wave Wednesday, Real Food Wednesday , The Weekend Whatever) And you can also find me on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

